Introduction to my blog……


Hello everyone.  This is my first blog, and I hope that you find it to be informative and useful.  I’m going to start with a mission statement and some background about myself.

Mission statement:

The purpose of this blog is to share my experience with weight loss, and how it has impacted my life.  I have been told that my weight loss has been inspiring to others, so I have decided to try to inspire others to at least attempt to do the same.

In this blog I will be sharing tips and techniques that may assist others with achieving weight loss, and hopefully increase their personal health.  I am not a doctor, a personal trainer or a nutritionist.  Just a standard disclaimer here.  The information that I have used to achieve my weight loss is not a “secret”.  I have simply discovered and tried things that have helped me to lose weight and (so far) keep it off.  The information that I will present here is information that is readily available to anyone with internet access and a bit of persistence.

About me:

Those of you that know me personally know that I have always been overweight.  I have never been a “normal” size, and have never been particularly “active”.  I have been overweight, actually obese, for all of my life until recently.

I grew up in North Mississippi, just south of Memphis, TN.  I now reside in Nashville, TN.

I had a son in 2007, and he has been one of the main motivations for me to lose weight and get in shape.  One of the biggest reasons for my success has been the availability of a free gym (provided by my employer), as well as the support of my wife.  I suppose I need to give myself some credit as well 😉

ABOVE ALL, I wanted to CHANGE.  I was tired of being so overweight.  My joints hurt all of the time.  My blood pressure was borderline (if not stage 1) hypertension.  I was afraid of developing diabetes (luckily my glucose was never out of control).  Most of all, I was afraid that my son would see his obese father as a role model.  I guess all of this really just scared me.   I was genuinely scared that I would die young and not see my son grow up.  That my son would always remember that his fat father abandoned him by dying.  It all hit home for me at once, I guess.

From my perspective, when you are obese your entire life, you tend to see yourself as smaller than you really are.  My highest weight, which I reached last March (2011) was 334.5 lbs.  It was insane to me that I weighed that much.  I had the idea in my head that I wasn’t that large.  I’m not sure if you have heard of “body dysmorphic disorder”, but if you have then you know that it is generally applied to those with eating disorders (i.e. bulimia and anorexia).  I actually have not researched this, but I expect that it also applies to those who are obese.  Generally, it means that the person you see in the mirror does not actually appear to be the same as reality to your brain.  Those with anorexia or bulimia generally see themselves as much larger or “fatter” than theyactually are.  I suspect the opposite applies to the obese.

My point?  I’m not sure that people who are “obese” or “fat” see themselves that way.  To me, this is one of the root causes of continuing to gain weight.  That is, besides being inactive and not TRULY knowing what or how much you eat every day. You don’t see yourself as being as large as you really are, so it’s OK not to make a change.

I decided to make a change to my life last March.  I realized that I needed to eat better, and that I needed to add physical activity to my life.  I started slowly, I started to track my food intake, but not really seriously.  I got a “fitness evaluation” and found out I was out of shape (surprise, surprise!) and morbidly obese.  I got started on a “fitness plan” at that point, and I started down the long road.

The end result:  I did something.  No matter how small the change is, ANYTHING is better than doing nothing.

In my next posts to this blog, I will do my best to outline the steps that I have taken on this weight loss journey.  My intention is to help people to take their life back from being unhealthy and obese.  Of course, my methods may not work for you, but if I can inspire you to make ANY change to make your life more healthy, I will have accomplished something.

So, stay tuned.  Settle in.  I am not finished with my journey yet, and I hope that you will soon begin yours.

About misfit28

I am a 37 year old father of one child. I reside in Nashville, TN with my wife, and am employed as a social science researcher. Weight loss and weight training has become one of my passions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Weight loss and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

