Motivation, the most important part


Sorry it has taken me so long to get back to this.

I forgot to give you some basic stats about me when I started this.  I told you that my weight was originally 334.5 lbs last March.  I didn’t tell you the rest of the story.  So here goes:

This morning I weighed in at 241 lbs.  That makes my total weight lost 93.5 lbs.  I am slowly edging up to the 100 lbs lost mark.  That is so insane to me!

Which leads me to the reason for this post.  I have been spending a lot of time lately thinking about the most important part of my weight loss story that I want to share with other people.  There are SO MANY things!  Exercise, food choices, caloric calculation, etc.  As I was thinking about what to write next, I could never quite narrow it down.

After my workout this morning, it hit me.  In my opinion, the single most important thing that has kept me going is the correct motivation.

For me, that motivation takes the form of my son.  I want to be there to see him grow up.  Most importantly, I don’t want to be a spectator.  I want to be an active participant in the shaping of his life.  I want to be healthy enough to play active games with him.  Play frisbee, ride a bike, whatever he wants to do.

That is my motivation.

If you are reading this blog, it is most likely because you want to lose weight.  That is awesome, but is that simple idea enough to motivate you and keep you going when you plateau?  I want you to find a compelling reason to lose that weight.  A reason to push yourself.

Because when the going gets tough, and it WILL, you need a strong motivator.

This blog is just beginning, and I hope to share many more things with you.  But first you have to have a reason.  I want you to look within yourself, find that reason, and make it a burning thought in your mind.  Hold onto that reason when you don;t feel like working out, when you feel like giving up.  Hold onto that reason, suck it up and DO IT!

 

Until next time….

 

About misfit28

I am a 37 year old father of one child. I reside in Nashville, TN with my wife, and am employed as a social science researcher. Weight loss and weight training has become one of my passions.
This entry was posted in motivation, Weight loss and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

