My thoughts on “dieting”….


I have basically gone over what I have accomplished so far in regards to weight loss.

I have also addressed the key (in my opinion) aspect of motivation to success in this endeavor.

Now, I am going to get to the part of this blog where I discuss what I have been doing to achieve this weight loss.  I’m sure you were waiting for this.

First of all, it is not EASY.  It is not FAST.  It takes really hard work and dedication to a new lifestyle.  People have said this before, and I will say it again….. I hate the concept of a “DIET”!!!

To me this word implies a temporary and unsustainable way of eating solely to lose a little weight.  Then, of course, you stop the “diet” and gain it all back (and maybe a bit more while you’re at it)!  To achieve permanent weight loss (which will always take work) you have to incorporate it into your lifestyle.

So, what I did with my eating habits was pretty simple.  Simple but not necessarily easy….

I cut out sodas, even “diet” ones.  Sure, I occasionally have a low or “zero” carb energy drink from time to time, even a beer here and there.  I drink a cup or two of coffee (with Splenda and a little creamer) as well.  However, 95% or more of my liquid intake per day is simply water.  I drink almost two gallons a day of the stuff.

I am not sure how many calories this has saved me over the past almost year and a half of weight loss, but I am SURE it is NOT insubstantial.  It wasn’t easy, but it had to be done.  One of my new mottoes is “don’t drink your calories”.  This also includes fruit juice, sweet tea, etc.  Fruit juice might seem innocuous, but take a look at a label sometime and actually register how much sugar is in a serving.  Eat the fruit instead!

Another pro tip: Water makes you feel more full 🙂

Next post:  I will discuss some strategies for changing your eating habits.

Thanks for reading, and if it is any good at all please share!

About misfit28

I am a 37 year old father of one child. I reside in Nashville, TN with my wife, and am employed as a social science researcher. Weight loss and weight training has become one of my passions.
This entry was posted in Weight loss and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

